Natural high: Asian Pop Addict interview!

Enter the deliciously catty and immediately engrossing world of Asian Pop Addict—a world inhabited by Florida’s most fabulous trio who are organized by chaos, crack, naughty pictures and where the only rule is… wait, there is NO rule. Their radio show has the effect of addiction itself—once you enter, it’s hard to extract yourself.

Enter at your own risk!

Okay, so maybe we have yet to find incriminating photos of the APOPA team. But before we do, let’s meet these chicas for the second part of Come to Playyy’s team blogger series!


Beatriz ‘Betty’, 24 spends her weekends at JCPenney and studying the rest of the week. She can be recognized through her: “laugh because its loud!”

Cintia a.k.a Cyn City, 25 is a Traffic Director for a radio station. Gets recognized by either her curly hair, my big butt, or boobs.

Anabel Sanchez (aka Ana Pana), 25: “I’m so damn short it’d be a surprise if anyone could find me lol. I do have really long thick hair though. and a big butt. they can spot that.”

***

ONCE YOU KPOP, YOU CAN’T STOP!

Brief background about asianpopaddict.com: Reason behind the name? Who thought of the name?

Cyn: Well I was pretty much bored with my daily job and the things I looked forward to the most during my days was reading up on my kpop and jpop artist and listening to music. Myself and my other co hosts (Ana, & Betty) always had these funny and weird convos about what was going on between the two scenes and so one day I was at work and I just instant messaged Ana and said “Hey, I want to start a show about Asian music” she goes “Oh, ok…” lol typical Ana response. So from there I convinced Ana to join me for the crazy ride and then drug Betty with us and the rest is pretty much history. Ana and I went thru so many names lmao. We couldn’t figure out the right name. We went thru “Asian Crack”, “Asian Fuckery”, and “The Puta Show” (puta means whore in Spanish)…lmao so many names, and then some how “Asian Pop Addict” just came out and we stuck with it.

Ana: Asian Pop Addict for me brings together the 3 key words that we felt best represented the subjects of our show/blog. I thought of the name after 2 weeks of procrastination. No one else could seem to think of one. I wanted it to be something short that got to the point. I had toyed with the idea of it being called Asian Crack or Asian Pop Fuckery, lol.

In three words, describe APOPA:

Cyn:just 3?? Hmmm (LOL, Gangsta, Real)

Betty: Fun, Enlightenment, Intense

Ana: Funny, entertaining, crazy

***

BLOGGING AND ALL THAT JAZZ

Are/Is there any particular HURTFUL comment/s by a reader/listener you received that stung you big time?

Cyn: I haven’t really had any hate yet. I’ll be waiting for it but I’m really the type of person who just laughs at it and agrees with that person just to throw them off guard.

Ana: Hmm on our blog, not yet. Though i do anticipate the day Cyn recieves hate mail. LOL. There are more tards on Live Journal than anywhere else I think.

Are/Is there any particular TOUCHING comment/s that was so inspiring it made you bawl your eyes out as you clutch your chest ala Suju style, and made you want to continue blogging forever and ever?

Cyn: When you said I made intelligent comments…lol besides that nothing has made me cry my eyes out yet but just made me happy that people enjoy what we’re doing so far.

Ana: I have gotten support though from people who don’t even listen to this music and said, “Way to go. I listened and I’m lolling and i don’t even know what artists your talking about.” That’s nice. And you, Floatingstars, have said some pretty awesome things too!

***

In Kpop/JPOP terms, WHO/ WHAT do you think of when you hear the word/s:

1. IDOL
Cyn: Johnny’s

Ana: JOHNNY’S BOYS

Betty: Kim Hyun Joong

2. FANGIRL

Cyn: Crazy Cassies

Betty: Extreme adoration

Ana: SCREAMING CHICKS, CASSIOPEIA

3. ANTI-FAN

Cyn: Yunho glue incident.

Betty: Haters!

Ana: CRAZY LOWLIFE BITCHES

4. NETIZENS

Cyn: Smart/retarded.

Ana: K-POP FORUMS

5. BOY BANDS

Cyn: love em.

Betty: SS501

Ana: KAT-TUN, BIG BANG, DBSK

TOP WANTS YOU. NOW.

Jin risen from the ashes

6. GIRL GROUPS

Cyn: Out in full force!

Betty: SNSD

Ana: 2NE1, SNSD

7. FANSERVICE

Cyn: Heechul needs to stop kissing those boys. It’s not fan service anymore it’s just ghei.

Betty: Heechul

Ana: KOKAME, HEECHUL

We all know Heechul loves boys. He just can’t get his hands (or lips) off them…

But when it comes to girls… He’s like… HANDS OFF.

We all know who he wants to be like.

Waaaahhh! Ghei alert??

8. LEGEND

Cyn: JYP.

Betty: Shinhwa

Ana: TOP, FUCK YES

9. EPIC FAIL

Cyn: G Dragon hole pants and every following suit to wear them.

Well, uh.. at least he was wearing pants…

Earth to GD! COME BACK TO EARTH!

Ana: JOHNNY’S COSTUMES

10. SPAZZ

Cyn: Me when it comes to Changmin

Ana: TAGUCHI JUNNOSUKE, HEECHUL

***

MORE ABOUT KPOP AND YOU!

Drama/TV music/variety show you wish you NEVER watched:

Cyn: Hmmm, I haven’t really come across one yet.

Betty: I’ve loved them all!

Ana: I DON’T EVEN HAVE TIME TO MENTION THEM ALL.

Artist (who’s inactive in the K biz right now) you wish should make a real comeback:

Cyn:I’m saying this more so for the people of Korea but I’m pretty sure they want to see BoA come back.

Betty: Eun Ji Won because MC Mong is coming back!!!!!!

Ana: LEXY

Artist you wish should fall off the face of the planet:

Cyn: Hey Say Jump (I know this is more kpop but I couldn’t think of one in kpop…lol) just cause.

Ana: I like most artists around right now but the one that comes to mind right now is 4minute. I like them the least. That’s fair right? Oh, and Hey Say Jump!. I just don’t like them. Oh and Morning Musume lol.

TOP on Hey Say Jump:

***

“DAYDREAMING. IF YOU’RE GOING TO DREAM, DREAM BIG! IT’S FREE ANYWAYS!”

If you could go out on a real one week date with a Korean celebrity on Mnet Scandal, who would it be and why?

Cyn: Ummm hello CHANGMIN!!! Lmao love that kid.

Betty: Micky Yoochun because although he isn’t my favorite DBSK member, he just seems like the type of guy who would instinctively know to show a girl a good time.

Ana: TOP from Big Bang. Why the hell WOULDN’T I??

What things (wholesome or otherwise ROFL) would you want to do with your celeb date?

Cyn: Nothing too fancy, I’m more of a casual type of girl so like we can just hang and walk around. Or go to Seoul Tower. Going to the beach would be nice just to sit there and talk and BS about whatever. The amusement park would be fun. I’m not type to eff on the first date but damn it if it’s Changmin he can just take it all. lmfao!

Betty: Do some street shopping to get to know each other’s taste, eat some hot ddeokbokki from one of those street-side vendors, go to an amusement park (I like the idea of a guy winning a stuffed teddy for his girl) and have candelight dinner at a resturant on some roof-top terrace. (I don’t have much of an imagination for these types of things).

Ana: I’d like to do something fun that’ll loosen up any tension like go to a fair first and then have dinner.

ULTIMATE QUESTION. dun dun dun dun!!! Which Korean music company/ family you’d like to be part of & why?

Cyn: SM Entertainment, have you seen how much money they are making this year alone?!?!?! Or Map The Soul just cuz anything Tablo and the boys touch turns into fire and they’re funny as hell so I know I’ll have fun doing whatever.

Betty: It would be between YG Entertainment and SM Entertainment simply because both have the funds to properly prepare trainee’s and have influence outside of Korea.

Ana: YG. Just to be next to Big Bang, and therefore, TOP, lol.

TIME TO SAY GOODBYERS!

Cyn: I first want to say much thanks to Icecapades for all the love you’re giving us. We really do appreciate it very much.

My hope and dream for APOPA I guess is to have a lot of people listen to it, LOL. It would be really great if we get a huge following so that maybe one day we’ll be able to have some of our fav jpop & kpop artist on. Who knows maybe it will get us to Japan or Korea just a little faster. 😉 CHANGMIN WAIT FOR ME!!!!!

Betty: I hope the people who listen have a very good sense of humor and understand that what’s said by any of the hosts about an Asian artist isn’t meant to hurt them, its just three girls hanging out and chatting. I do hope that more people visit the website and take some time to listen to our weekly show because of the hard work put in by CynCity and AnaPana to make this happen. My dream is that CynCity will one day lift her ban on never playing any Hey!Say!Jump! songs on the show.

So please show APOPA some love and support! Kamsahamnida!

Ana: Please continue to support us, we are nothing without fellow fangirl stimulation, because we’re fangirls ourselves! Our future plans u ask? Take it to the top, yo!

FLOATINGSTARS RECOMMENDATION: APOPA team gives you unbridled, honest and funny opinions on all K/JPOP gossip, music, happenings, everything! Definitely must listen! They also have fun stuff for everyone every week like “WTF of the week,” “Fashion fail,” among others, and my personal fave, “Ghei of the week.” LOL. Visit them at asianpopaddict.com and follow them at twitter/asianpopaddict!

Thanks to APOPA!

And you think SHINee is jailbait!

Okay, we all know TOP is H-O-T. So I want to show more than what is just the obvious.

Oh, TOP. Still hot even with all the fail.

Changmin: Noona, stop looking at me like that…

Cheerios!<3

13 Responses

  1. You are seriously ALL kinds of WIN for this! The idea of this blogger project was fantastic to begin with. The fact that you included us in it was an honor for us. I won’t ever forget that you were the first person who jumped at the idea to help us promote.

    Reading Cyn’s and Betty’s replies were great and Betty’s answers were so damn predictable for me LOL. And of course she’d mention HSJ somehow. Oh, and LOVE the TOP pics. Srsly, he’s so much love. We will feature this on our LJ community and put it on our main site too! Thank you so much for your thoughtful blog and once again for featuring us. 🙂 ♥♥♥♥

    • awww don’t mention it! it’s my pleasure! i’m glad you liked it! i hope you’ll invite your listeners to read your feature! love your show and keep it up!

  2. Another great interview! I’ll have to tune into the girls from now on. They sound like a blast.

  3. awwwwww this came out great. I know I’ve been dragging ass lately on commenting but soooo much has been going on but now that I’m on vaca.

    We didn’t trade answers because we wanted to be surprised of what each other had to say. lol

    It’s too funny how some of our answers were alike.

    Ohhh lord TOP oppa…

    CHANGMIN!!!! I will keep looking at you like that until you give into noona.

    Love u girl! thanks for all the love srsly.

  4. Holla for Floridian Asian entertainment fans! I know they exist, but I never meet any in my part of the state lol.

  5. I recently began to listen to APOPA and this interview was great. It’s like a preview of what you can hear in the show. I’m going to bookmark this place cuz I dont want cyn to hunt me down xD

  6. yeh right.. great post, Thank You

Leave a Reply

