Letting the good times roll: Seoulbeats’ Ellie interview!

The Ellieleous maximus leeofficinalis is a rare species who, according to her, is “loud, vertically challenged, spunky and energetic.” She is part of the Fierceous loquacious genus Seoulbeats family that has funny ears, and is a hefty eater who can consume 250 kilograms of plants and weigh up to 5 tons. Known as Ellie, she is in a mission to save the spread of Asian love that is in danger of extinction. The reason: Humans. Their last hope: Humans. And Ellie.


Okay, sorry, I just snorted a National Geographic mag, thus that last bit about funny ears, eating plants and weighing 5 tons. Anyways, after much thought I finally gave up and decided to name this blogger feature “Come to Playyy!” Named after one of my fave Korean talk shows. No, it’s not misspelled. I’m just afraid of copyright laws. And the first Kpop blogger that came to playyy! in our KPOP playground is Ellie from Seoulbeats.com! She personally chose that photo to be included in this article, and here’s what she has to say about blogging, creating her own music company and random things about KPOP!

PROFILE

Age: 22
Mental age: 15
“Real job” (okay, blogging is also a real job, but this is what the real world calls “real job,” *sigh*) :

“Just graduated from school, looking for a J O B.”
If you’re in the middle of a huge crowd & a friend is supposed to meet you, what do you think is your distinct attribute that will make your friend recognize you from afar? Like when they see you they’ll say, “Ah… That’s Ellie!”

“My walk, everyone makes fun of the way I walk!”
ONCE YOU KPOP, YOU CAN’T STOP!


Why the name “Seoulbeats”? Who thought of the name?


“Our leader Seoulbeats came up with the name cause when she was in Seoul, Korea she felt her heart beat so she put the two together. I’m totally kidding, but that’s a better story than her just thinking of the name.”
Three words that describe Seoulbeats:
Honest, Witty, & Funny.
Let’s take a trip down memory lane, towards the good old days of bad teased up big hairstyles, tacky clothing and corny expressions like “How Gee!” What/ who got you into Kpop?
Kim Jong Gook!
BLOGGING AND ALL THAT JAZZ

What blog/website, aside from Seoulbeats, do you visit first thing in the morning and the last one you go to before going to bed?

“Probably my own blog, yo-ellie.blogspot.com. Hehe! But every Sunday I love reading postsecret.com.”
*note: PostSecret is an ongoing community art project where people mail in their secrets anonymously on one side of a postcard.

Typical Korean melodramatic episode in your life as a blogger. Are/Is there any particular HURTFUL comment/s by a reader you received that stung you big time and made you wanna plot revenge or plan for world domination so that when you succeed & meet that person you’re gonna go, “HAH! Who’s laughing now b*tch! [insert witchy evil laugh here] until you realize that he/she is actually your long lost sibling you eventually fall in love with? …okay sorry, been watching TOO many Kdramas…

“There are definitely a lot of people out there who like me and dislike me just the same. I’ve gotten a lot of hurtful comments from readers in the past but I’ve also said mean things about people in the past. I do this new thing now, where I don’t bash just for the fun of bashing cause I’ve been thinking a lot about how those people must feel when I say hurtful things so though people say mean things about me, it’s fine cause I got more people that love me than hate me! If I yelled at hater and I realized it was my sibling, then I’d probably cry not cause I dissed that person but because my mom never told me I had a long lost sibling.”
Are/Is there any particular TOUCHING comment/s that was so inspiring it made you bawl your eyes out as you clutch your chest ala Suju style, and made you want to continue blogging forever and ever?

“Haha, I don’t think I’ve ever cried over a nice comment but it definitely made me smile.”
FUN RANDOM FANDOM QUESTIONS! In Kpop terms, WHO/ WHAT do you think of when you hear the word/s:

1. IDOL – DBSK.
2. FANGIRL – Insane.
3. ANTI-FAN – Murderous.
4. NETIZENS – Psychotic.
5. BOY BANDS – Super Junior.
6. GIRL GROUPS – SNSD
7. FANSERVICE – Nice.
8. LEGEND – Hyori.
9. EPIC FAIL – Kibum cause he ditched SUJU and Elfs.

Kibum: Who am I & what am I doing here??

10. SPAZZ – JoKwon but in a good way, I really love his personality.
***
MORE ABOUT KPOP AND YOU!

Kpop song/s on your playlist right now: 2ne1 “I don’t care.”
Drama/TV music/variety show you’re currently glued on: Family Outing.
Drama/TV music/variety show you wish you NEVER watched:
“Idol army cause I don’t wanna be a 2PM fan girl :)”
Artist (who’s inactive in the K biz right now) you wish should make a real comeback:
Mc Mong, even though I know he’s making a comeback soon.
Artist you wish should fall off the face of the planet: No one.
Choose one type of celeb & tell us why! Pretty boys noonas fawn all over (ala Shinee, who else!) vs Manly drool-worthy men without the guilt (ala Bi/Rain)?

“I love manly men, you just can’t get better than a good old chiseled man who knows how to take care of a woman. Pretty boys are not my style at all.”
Pretty, innocent & cute girls for ahjusshhi jailbait (ala SNSD image) vs Sexy, fierce divas men fawn all over (ala Lee Hyori)?

“Sexy fierce diva. SNSD is cute but you can’t go wrong with Hyori.”
***
DAYDREAMING. IF YOU’RE GOING TO DREAM, DREAM BIG! IT’S FREE ANYWAYS!

If you could go out on a real one week date with a Korean celebrity on Mnet Scandal, who would it be and why?

“Um Mnet Scandal is EFFED UP. Cause I just watched Taec’s show with that chick and I felt so bad for her at the end of their week date. She definitely started having feelings for him and to end it just like that is just wrong. I don’t know why I sound so angry, haha! I’d probably go on a date with Jaebeom just cause he’s Korean American and my age.”

Hongki took his date out of the city for a beach all-nighter (oooh sounds scandalicious!), Taecyeon cooked dinner & introduced his date to 2pm members, Nichkhun went on a “hot” icecapades date, while 2AM duos Jo Kwon & SeoulOng went out on a picnic date, NOT TOGETHER, but with their girls. What things (wholesome or otherwise ROFL) would you want to do with your celeb date?

“I’d soo do that beach all nighter date. I love cuddling and just looking out into ocean. Something about it is so intimate and sincere. No ladies?”
If you were a trainee who’s about to debut, which Kpop song would you like to have as your OWN debut song or a stage performance by an artist you’d like to have done YOURSELF?

“2NE1’s “Fire” cause those chicks are F I E R C E.”
***
ULTIMATE QUESTION. dun dun dun dun!!! Which Korean music company/ family you’d like to be part of & why?

“None, I’d start my own company called EYL, which are my initials and I’d PWN KPOP.”

EYL: Looking for fresh talents. Training consists of: eating ice cream everyday for voice training, dancing the “crab dance” for 10 hours and reviewing 2PM videos for variety show practice. Call Ellie now!


Bet JYP’s gonna make a run for his money!

If you were to act alongside a famous hallyu star in a multi-million dollar movie, who would it be, why & in what type of movie?

“Rain, it’d be Ninja Assassin II and I’ll play his enemy who turns into his lover. Nice.”
***
TIME TO SAY GOODBYERS! Typical goodbye message: What do you want to say to your readers? What are your hopes and dreams for Seoulbeats?

“Hey everyone, thanks so much for supporting Seoulbeats and my personal blog. You guys are the best and I hope you always drop by our site and leave a little love. We have many new projects coming your way so I hope you support us in all that we do. We’re determined to become more than just a KPOP site and we hope you’ll grow with us. Love you guys!”
*** Recommendations:

Okay, this is me floatingstars talking. I think what’s great about the Seoulbeats team is that they keep on thinking about different ideas to liven up their blog. Just the other day they launched a section that features everything about Korean food and in turn, its culture. So it’s definitely more than just an entertainment site. And you really wouldn’t know what surprises these ladies have up their sleeves. Must watch! Their Seoulbeats weekly/vlog is beyond hilarious. It’s a unique take on the already chaotic world of Kpop. Keep it up Seoulbeats! Thanks Ellie!
***
You heard her people! She’s looking for a job! Just kidding! Support http://www.seoulbeats.com, follow what the Seoulbeats team are up to at twitter.com/seoulbeats and get to know more about Ellie in her personal blog at yo-ellie.blogspot.com!

P.S. So whatcha guys think? Watch out for more Come to Playyy! as I’ll be featuring more bloggers from all over the world writing about different genres—music, dramas, etc. There’s a great lineup of bloggers coming up! Sorry this took quite a while. Idunno how to put on thought bubbles in pics!! LOL! I’m so happy a lot of you have responded positively and immediately to my lil’ old request! Getting to know the person behind a great blog, one fangirl blogger at a time. Spread the word and spread the KPOP love!

As a thank you to Ellie, and being a Jay fan myself, here’s a special section dedicated just for you!

He seemed so normal.


I remember reading several comments in Seoulbeats saying how much you resemble the model next to Jay… You kinda do! LOL
JAY + PINK = SWEET.

Ellie looking good in Lady Gaga outfit! LOL just kidding! Cheers to you and Seoulbeats!<3
11 Responses

  1. haha I wanna join EYL! LOL.

    It’s so cool to know the person behind all these wonderful blogs (:

  2. Wooo.. thank you for introduce us such great person behind this cool blog! After I read this, I straightly go to seoulbeats.com and absolutely impressed. Not just giving interesting reviews, the layouts also looks professional :p
    And I really amazed with their exclusive interviews with Tablo and some famous k-pop artists (Tablo is very cool with his great English).

    Spread the words mode: ON

  3. this is so interesting……..I have fun reading this…!!!

  4. Haha, this was fun! I like the way you put in all the pictures and stuff. I was cracking up the whole time, in a good way.

  5. yayyy great idea you have here! major props to your effort! people should get to know more about your blog! posts are really a great read and very unique!

  6. thanks for an interesting post! i agree with the comment above. i can see the effort! great way to get to know bloggers! love it! ellie sounds fun.

  7. omg. i think i love you. i’ve been reading seoulbeats and other kpop websites for quite awhile now and i think ellie’s such a dear :] this interview is such a nice surprise!

    ellie should put this interview on her blog. hahah

    • LOL thanks! i emailed her back and sent her the link already. thanks for visiting this site! more interviews to come! you’ll love the next ones. kpop bloggers are really witty and interesting especially with their answers<3

  8. Another good read!

    -Rome

  9. Floatingstars, lemme share you my thoughts when you ask me with questions like you did to Ellie, Kpopped and Babelfish:

    What/ who got you into Kpop?

    Well, I was more into K-dramas that was as early as late 2005. I was kinda liking All About Eve then…. but in late of 2006 moving forward, I became more enthusiastic when I first saw JEWEL IN THE PALACE…. and the rest? I’ve bought bootleg DVDs of K-drama classics Autumn Fairy Tale etc…etc…. Then I swept into K-movies and finally K-pop. I’ve got a first taste of K-drama OSTs until I’ve known BADA, Lee Hyori. They were the first pop stars I liked, then Wondergirls was the first k-pop girlgroup I loved thru their “tell me”. Bigbang, though I was not enthusiastic at them then, but I fell in love with their “Last Farewell” since the tune brings me back the days when I’m longin’ for partying since that song is party-worthy. To tell you, I was not into boybands until I’ve met BIGBANG. I’ve been noticing 2PM thru Popseoul but I didn’t like them… like…. what the heck should I care about them… and if not with POPSEOUL’s one of its polls, I wouldn’t have known Nichkhun. If not with Nichkhun, 2PM wouldn’t have entered into my heart.

    Honey, I was not that boyband lover wayback in college. I was a huge rockfan….hardcore rock to be exact. Deftones, A Perfect Circle, System of a Down, Metallica, Linkin Park, Mudvayne, Marilyn Manson, Smashing Pumpkins and some pinoy rockbands like Parokya ni Edgar, Queso, Chicosci, Greyhoundz, Slapshock, Valley of Chrome, Daydream Cycle, Eraserheads, Wolfgang, Razorback. I loathed boybands with a passion and Kpop never existed in my vocabulary. I’ve never thought that a college groupie like me would end up falling in love with… first, G-Dragon until I’ve “cheated” on him for Nichkhun.

    ***

    What blog/website, aside from yours, do you visit first thing in the morning and the last one you go to before going to bed?

    —Well, I don’t co-blog with any k-pop blogsites. I have a blog of my own at Multiply and still maintaining it up to now. I blog not all about K-wave but Pinoy scene as well. Blogs I visit? Seoulbeats, Popseoul, Floatingstars, AllKPop… I also paid visits to forums like Soompi, Asianfanatics and PinoyExchange.

    Typical Korean melodramatic episode in your life as a blogger. Are/Is there any particular HURTFUL comment/s by a reader you received that stung you big time?

    —Well, not from Kpop fans. Pinoy fans actually. When the time I was a pro GMA Network bias (to tell you, there is a “network war” between ABS-CBN and GMA and still rampant up to now). I’ve been blogging mercilessly at ABS-CBN. Though I’ve lambasted GMA, Kapamilya fans felt I am still an anti-ABSCBN biased, blogging mostly against ABS-CBN and some stars. I’ve even created a poll at gmakapusonetwork.multiply.com regarding which of the 3 versions of Hana Yori Dango you liked… and I’ve even stuffed my PerezHilton influence by putting a drawing at any pic, I’ve even “crowned” Kim Hyunjoong as “Miss Gay Korea 2009”, and the rest of BOF pics as “Plasticized”. That generated numerous lambastments from BOF fans, and GMA Kapusonetwork was blamed for that article, citing that GMA was too bitter enough they were not able to get Boys Over Flowers. They called me “pig” to the point that they even bashed my parents for being “whores” etc.

    Are/Is there any particular TOUCHING comment/s that was so inspiring it made you bawl your eyes out as you clutch your chest ala Suju style, and made you want to continue blogging forever and ever?

    —-well, one of my visitors asked me about my zodiac, and I told him it’s GEMINI. below are the ff. statements:

    *I love Gemini folks. Witty. Gifted in words. Opinionated. Can be sarcastic in words and condescending…but they don’t mean that in their heart…they’re just like that. They’re very sympathetic to those who are marginalized and oppressed by the system.
    I admire you for saying exactly what you want. For making maximum use of Freedom of Speech.

    *Am I right? And Gemini’s have good taste. They know what’s “beautiful” and well-crafted.

    *Roxy…Be Yourself.
    whatever it is…being “yourself”
    People who matter in Life, need not be pleased…you don’t have to be anything else apart from what and who you are inside.
    Those who try to make you into something else, and who fail to love you and understand you for all that you are…are…dogs of society. They don’t matter at all.

    *You ARE the Fashion.
    You ARE the Eventuality.
    Don’t end up following somebody else’s style. Because you define Style itself.

    *The most miserable sickness of society is being a template of someone else.
    We were programmed to become like this or like that…only ending-up miserable and disconsolate because we were forced into becoming something that we are not. We lose our identity and individuality in the process by becoming like a factory robot.
    The next time another dog of society imposes something over you that makes you into something that you’re not…tell him or her this:
    “I’m NOT your Slave. I’m NOT your property. Go Fuck Off.”

    *Meaningful people appreciate you for all that you are…devoid of prejudice or conformity or expectation.
    We are happy and even ingratiated that you graced our experience of life with your presence…not because we want you to be something else, but because you made our moments more meaningful and enjoyable by just being there.
    As you are.

    ***

    FUN RANDOM FANDOM QUESTIONS!

    In Kpop terms, WHO/ WHAT do you think of when you hear the word/s:

    1. IDOL
    GDragon – who cares if he’s “plagiarizer”? Man, I admire that,
    at a very young age, he has been producing songs
    and album, fashion designer and music artist as well.
    His tranformation might be a bit scary, but at least
    never manufactured himself to be “one of the pretty
    boys” nor “Thuggish gangsta ala-SnoopDog” in
    Kpoplandia… but “Queen Jiyong”….. jokes!
    What we have in common? We both weird in each
    of our ways, we smoke, we “love schmex”…(joke!),
    we both can draw and design (though my designing
    skills begins to fade slowly)

    Lee Hyori – Her singing and dancing talent might be questionable
    to some people, but I consider Hyori unni as
    “Queen of Reinvention”. She continues to reinvent
    herself and as she grows old, she becomes ferosh
    and ferosh each day without goin’ nutjob ala-Brit Brit
    Spears or Lily Allen.

    2. FANGIRL – Me (yes!)…. but seriously, Fangirl=Wifey wannabe
    of an idol. In Korean setting, no offense…
    Fangirl=Girlfags…. get it?

    3. ANTI-FAN – the budding Thomas Hewitts/Freddy Kruegers/
    Jason Voorhees

    4. NETIZENS – Well, I’m one of the netizens, ayt? Yet, seriously,
    when it comes to Korean Netizens…well..
    they equated to NOSEYNESS, BULLYING,

    5. BOY BANDS – 2pm/BIGBANG/2am volted-in

    6. GIRL GROUPS – 2NE1, Wondergirls, 4minute, BEG

    7. FANSERVICE – boy-to-boy loveteams (i’m givin’ you
    reason I’m callin’ Korean fangirls Girlfags.
    I have nothing against Girlfags, but what’s
    fucked-up is, as fangirls they simply exploit
    their boyidols to loveteam with a guy because
    they turn jealous to a girl teammate).

    8. LEGEND – Seo Taiji, because he pioneered rock scene
    in Korean mainstream. I admire someone who
    breaks the expectations of mainstream fulla’
    cheesiness. I’m not sayin’ pop music is cheesy.
    Probably because rock music still runs into
    my vains.

    9. EPIC FAIL – Joo Jihoon…. self-explanatory!
    Yoon Eunhye…. where’s her charm now, and
    why her comeback drama doesn’t rate well
    like her Goong and Coffee Prince days

    10. SPAZZ – Fellow Hottests stomping to the remaining 6
    members of 2PM. Should these girls GROW-UP?
    Worse, they’ve even posted a poster in Seoul
    City Hall that they won’t purchase 2PM album
    without Jaebum. See where their braincells are
    up to?

    ***

    MORE ABOUT KPOP AND YOU!

    Choose one type of celeb & tell us why! Pretty boys noonas fawn all over (ala Shinee, who else!) vs Manly drool-worthy men without the guilt (ala Bi/Rain)?

    —Well, pretty boys are okay as long as they exhibit some manliness…. I don’t want all pretty boy but i also hate super-manly to the point of gettin’ chunky monkey (ala Gerald Anderson)

    Pretty, innocent & cute girls for ahjusshhi jailbait (ala SNSD image) vs Sexy, fierce divas men fawn all over (ala Lee Hyori)?

    —Sexy Fierce diva. I have nothing against pretty and innocent looking girls but sometimes, what is irritating is, trying to be innocent but their beeotchyness arises…too much sweetness is
    annoying.

    Drama/TV music/variety show you’re currently glued on:
    —Wild Bunny (via Youtube), Starking (and Nichkhun’s cute antics)

    Drama/TV music/variety show you wish you NEVER watched: —-Terms of Endearment (Drama-over-the-top-to-the-mostest, and scrutiny scene of a woman with a “past” was overexaggerated).
    Lobbyist (Slow pacing, character development on Song Il-Gook’s
    part was also slow. Jumong was fucking better.)

    Artist (who’s inactive in the K biz right now) you wish should make a real comeback:
    —I want SONG IL-GOOK be back in a drama and rate like hell. LEE YOUNG-AE should make a drama or a movie
    after almost 5 years of hiatus.

    Artist you wish should fall off the face of the planet:
    Couldn’t think of any…. though I want SNSD should be. I view them as bunch of phony bitches.

    ***

    “DAYDREAMING. IF YOU’RE GOING TO DREAM, DREAM BIG! IT’S FREE ANYWAYS!”

    If you could go out on a real one week date with a Korean celebrity on Mnet Scandal, who would it be and why?

    —Can I ask Nichkhun some permission??? You’ve said Korean, ayt?
    I’d probably choose G-Dragon (nuff said). If non-Korean, of course, I’d rather be loyal to my babyNichkhun. He’s my “current lurve”
    nowadays. I’m like… “he’s my baby… babyhubby”. I’m not perfect for him but I would give my best love possible just like what Kim Minsun did to him. We cook together, sing together, he drops by at my work area (Call Center) and picks me up after shift…

    What things (wholesome or otherwise ROFL) would you want to do with your celeb date?

    –I will cook and sing for him. During his rehearsal, I’d drop by and give him some presents and packed lunches for him… and in the middle of the night and we’re only two in the room, I wanna grove with him to the tune of 2PM’s ALL NIGHT LONG… and givin’ him “best performance possible” to him. I’m not braggin’, but I’m pretty great at everything… in bed… hahahahhaha!

    If you were a trainee who’s about to debut, which Kpop song would you like to have as your OWN debut song or a stage performance by an artist you’d like to have done YOURSELF?

    –Seo Taiji’s ULTRAMANIA. Not pop music though, but I wanna rock YG and remind him of his days with Seo Taiji and boys. I wanna stand out as not one of your Kpop artist. I’d be like Liz Phair to Korean music scene.

    ULTIMATE QUESTION. dun dun dun dun!!! Which Korean music company/ family you’d like to be part of & why?

    YG Entertainment. This company ROCKS! They don’t look more on your appearance as well as your age. They look more on your talent. Also, YG Entertainment made me like Hiphop since, of all the genres, Hiphop is my most loathed music ever since I hate the culture. I hate the decadence. YG made hiphop gangsterish without gettin’ too decadent. I wanna collaborate with the likes of 1TYM and Jinusean as well.

    If you were to act alongside a famous hallyu star in a multi-million dollar movie, who would it be, why & in what type of movie?

    Well, could be in a sex comedy wherein I’m a Pinay migrant… happened to be 2PM members’ neighbor… and gettin’ into trouble at first because they’ve messed up my place… starting a war, becoming their “caring noona”, Nichkhun becomes “closer to me”, discovers I’m already a single parent then disregards that fact. 2PM would be bunch of perv boys, and pinay actresses Marian Rivera etc. would be one of my girls… then Love/Sex sparks between 2 forces.

    ***

Leave a Reply

