Shida Mirai becomes a little princess!

Sara the little princess is back and now she’s about to touch everyone’s heart again with a new live action drama starring Japan’s very own little sister, Shida Mirai!


From Tokyograph:

"The next starring role for young actress Mirai Shida (16) will be in a drama series on TBS this fall. The drama is titled "Princess Sara" (alternatively, "A Little Princess") and is based on a famous children’s story that was turned into an anime in Japan. "A Little Princess" was originally written in the UK during the late 1800s by Frances Hodgson Burnett. The story became famous worldwide and was adapted as a successful Broadway play, as well as multiple musicals, films, and television works. In 1985, the story was animated in Japan by Nippon Animation as part of the "World Masterpiece Theater" series, under the title "Princess Sara."

The TBS drama has Shida playing the part of Sara, a high school student whose father is extremely wealthy. After her father dies and his business collapses, leaving her penniless, the school’s director and Sara’s previously jealous classmates take the opportunity to make her life miserable. But despite their bullying, Sara endures it with a positive attitude. Kanako Higuchi (50) plays the school director, while Kento Hayashi (18) plays Sara’s love interest Kaito. Filming will start on September 1 in India, since Sara lived there until entering high school. TBS has scheduled the drama in its Saturday 8:00pm time slot, starting this October."

Mirai is a popular and talented child actress who was born in 1993. She became recognized after her breakthrough role as Kazumi Kanda in Joō no Kyōshitsu, leading her to more prominent roles, such as Miki Ichinose in 14 Sai no Haha (14 year old mother). She also starred in the student detective series Tantei Gakuen Q with Hey Say Jump’s Yamada Ryosuke.


I remember watching A little princess anime version back in middle school, I think? I swear, I felt like I was bff with Sara! I can’t count how many times I attempted to draw her with my so-called artistic fail. It was a Japanese anime by Nippon animation extremely popular in 1995. I remember wanting to punch the evil Miss Minchin in the face and that mean jealous girl who has a snarky smirk. Oh, and I found the little blonde kid with Sara a bit annoying lol. And snaps they’re filming in India! How cool is that! I’ve also seen the Hollywood movie version and it was great how they incorporated scenes that depict Ramayana.

***

It was by accident that I watched 14 Sai no Haha. I was blown away. I never thought I’d bawl myself out after One Litre of Tears. Shida Mirai has shown acting talent beyond her years. I mean, playing a 14 year old who has to deal with pregnancy and all the consequences that went along with it must’ve taken a lot of hard work. The drama was heartwarming yet bitterly realistic, as Mirai’s character had to muster all her strength to face her parents’ disappointment, the school’s atrocious treatment (her friends abandoned her), and having to nurse a heartbreak from the father of her child. This drama will make you understand and appreciate your parents more, and will teach you how to make the right choices. *brings out a box of tissues* LOVE HER SO MUCH!!

Some scenes from 14 year old mother:

She starred alongside Miura Haruma, of the Gokusen/ Sky of Love fame:


I’m seriously gonna look forward to this new drama. Mirai will surely be the next big star.

P.S. I didn’t know Sara had an 18-year-old love interest!

15 Responses

  1. Love her in Seigi no Mikata. I kinda hope she & Miura will be cast together again. They’re so cute!

  2. I totally agree with you! I stumbled on her in 14sai no haha as well. she’s an amazing actress. thank you for letting me know about this series! :D I’ll definitely be following it

    • sure thing! thanks for dropping by this site! hey you’ve got ameblo blog! are you japanese?

      • np! :D i was referred by asian pop addict or uhh that radio site. the name escapes me XD;

        after stopping by here I went to watch seigi no mikata <3 haha it was great. watching the school drama was so nostalgic :X i had no idea practically all the schools in japan actually DID look the same haha

        nah, i'm not japanese. I'm filipino :]] but i've been (trying) to learn japanese since 2005 hahaha. not much progress though D:

  3. Oh..I love this little girl’s acting. She also acted in Tantei Gakuen Q’ as Megumi Minami. Looking forward for her new drama!

  4. wow seems interesting, this is the first time I’ve known her. You’re description of 14 Sai no Haha makes me wanna watch it. Thanks for this info. In terms of adaptation, I think the Japanese do it best. Thank you for sharing this info.

  5. miura + shida = totally cuteness.

  6. shes in the3rd or 4th episode of boss and is soo freakin good in that.

  7. Gonna watch 14sai no haha now lol I’ve watched her in Tantei Gakuen Q & Boss but i guess 14sai no haha probably shows her acting skills better? Really like Miura Haruma too…

  8. I’ve been watching “Shokojo Seira” and I almost feel like it was an erroneous decision on her part to take the role. I liked her characters in “Tantei Gakuen Q” and “14 Sai no Haha” but Seira is just annoying. The character is almost annoying enough for me to project my dislike unto the actress ==;

    • I watched the first ep and I have to say I felt a bit disappointed! I like Shida Mirai but her “nice” character just does not seem natural. She fits the role of more serious characters I think.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

